Skip to content Skip to navigation

2022-2023 Department Chairs

School of Engineering


 Anita Bhappu - Management of Complex Systems (MCS) - abhappu@ucmerced.edu


 Shawn Newsam - Computer Science & Engineering (CSE) -  snewsam@ucmerced.edu 


 Marc Beutel - Civil & Environmental Engineering (CEE) -  mbeutel@ucmerced.edu 


 Ashlie Martini - Mechanical Engineering (ME) -  amartini@ucmerced.edu 


 Valerie Leppert - Materials Science & Engineering (MSE) -  vleppert@ucmerced.edu 


Wei-Chun Chin - Bioengineering (BioE) - wchin2@ucmerced.edu


School of Natural Sciences


 Suzanne Sindi - Applied Math -  ssindi@ucmerced.edu 


 Ryan Baxter - Chemistry & Biochemistry - rbaxter@ucmerced.edu


 Carolin Frank - Life & Environmental Sciences (LES) -  cfrank3@ucmerced.edu 


 Jennifer Manilay - Molecular & Cell Biology (MCB) -  jmanilay@ucmerced.edu 


 Nestor Oviedo - Co-Chair:  Molecular & Cell Biology (MCB) -  noviedo2@ucmerced.edu 


 Linda Hirst  - Physics -  lhirst@ucmerced.edu 


School of Social Sciences, Humanities, and Arts


 David Noelle - Cognitive & Informational Sciences (CIS) - dnoelle@ucmerced.edu


 Paul Gibbons - Global Arts,  Media, and Writing Studies (GAMWS) - pgibbons@ucmerced.edu


 David Rouff - History & Critical Race & Ethnic Studies (HCRES) - dtorres-rouff@ucmerced.edu


 Christina Torres - Anthropology & Heritage Studies (AHS) - ctorres-rouff@ucmerced.edu


 Virginia Adan-Lifante - Literatures & Languages and Cultures (LAL) -  vadan-lifante@ucmerced.edu 


 Jessica Trounstine - Political Science (POL) - jtrounstine@ucmerced.edu


 Heather Bortfeld - Psychological Sciences (PSY) -  hbortfeld@ucmerced.edu 


 Asa Bradman - Public Health (PH) -  abradman@ucmerced.edu 


 Laura Hamilton - Sociology (SOC) -  lhamilton2@ucmerced.edu 


 Christian Fons-Rosen - Economics & Business Management (EBM) -  cfons-rosen@ucmerced.edu