Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for the most up to date information about instruction.Campus ReadyCOVID Help

2021-2022 Department Chairs

School of Engineering


Eva De Alba - Bioengineering (BioE) -   edealbabastarrechea@ucmerced.edu 


 Shawn Newsam - Computer Science Engineering (CSE) -  snewsam@ucmerced.edu 


 Thomas Harmon - Civil & Environmental Engineering (CEE) -  tharmon@ucmerced.edu 


 Ashlie Martini - Mechanical Engineering (ME) -  amartini@ucmerced.edu 


 Sarah Kurtz - Materials Science Engineering (MSE) -  skurtz@ucmerced.edu 


 Anita Bhappu - Management of Complex Systems (MCS) - abhappu@ucmerced.edu


School of Natural Sciences


 Suzanne Sindi - Applied Math -  ssindi@ucmerced.edu 


 Hrant Hratchian - Chemistry & Biochemistry - hhratchian@ucmerced.edu


 Teamrat Ghezzehei - Life & Environmental Sciences (LES) -  taghezzehei@ucmerced.edu 


 Jennifer Manilay - Molecular & Cell Biology (MCB) -  jmanilay@ucmerced.edu 


 Nestor Oviedo - Co-Chair:  Molecular & Cell Biology (MCB) -  noviedo2@ucmerced.edu 


 Ajay Gopinathan  - Physics -  agopinathan@ucmerced.edu 


School of Social Sciences, Humanities, and Arts


 David Noelle - Cognitive & Informational Sciences (CIS) - dnoelle@ucmerced.edu


 Jayson Beaster-Jones - Global Arts,  Media, and Writing Studies (GAMWS) - jbeaster-jones@ucmerced.edu


 David Torres-Rouff - History & Critical Race & Ethnic Studies (HCRES) - dtorres-rouff@ucmerced.edu


 Christina Torres-Rouff - Anthropology & Heritage Studies (AHS) - ctorres-rouff@ucmerced.edu


 Virginia Adan-Lifante - Literatures & Languages (LAL) -  vadan-lifante@ucmerced.edu 


 Jessica Trounstine - Political Science (POL) - jtrounstine@ucmerced.edu


 Heather Bortfeld - Psychological Sciences (PSY) -  hbortfeld@ucmerced.edu 


 Asa Bradman - Public Health (PH) -  abradman@ucmerced.edu 


 Laura Hamilton - Sociology (SOC) -  lhamilton2@ucmerced.edu 


 Justin Cook - Economics & Business Management (EBM) -  jcook9@ucmerced.edu